Le Procope 1686

Le Procope, situated in 13 Rue de L’Ancienne ComedieIMG_5318 in the 6th arrondissement, is Paris’ oldest cafe founded in 1686. If you want traditional French food while enjoying an authentic French-style setting, this is a good place for it!

To start our dinner, between my family of four, we ordered a bowl of soup de l’oignon to share. At first glance, the soup didn’t look so great, but after the first sip with that baked cheese…yeah, our spoons were basically fighting each other in that one bowl of soup. You can really taste the white wine that’s been added.

The signature dish here is “calf’s head casserole.” Sounds a bit weird, but let’s faceit…if you want to enjoy local food, no matter where you are in the world, you have to be an adventurous eater. I was a bit hesitant to get that, so my brother did the honors. It came in a steamy hot metal pot and is served to you by the waiter. I only understood why it’s Le Procope’s signature dish after the first bite…the sauce has completely seeped into the meat, and the meat it self is really tender (I mean, it did come from a calf after all). This is a must order for any first-timer here!

IMG_5330

IMG_5331

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another main dish ordered is the beef cheek. This was good as well, but only came second best to the calf’s head casserole. The beef it self was also soft (even though I’ve had softer), and the sauce became a bit too salty after you’ve been eating it for a while. It was also served like the calf’s head casserole. I apologize for forgetting to take pictures of this one, but it’s definitely worth a try.

IMG_5328The duck breast is also worth a try, but I should’ve gotten medium rare…that was my own mistake in judgement. Since I chose medium, the duck breast was a bit too hard. But overall, the taste of the dish is also very well done.

Too bad we had no room for desert…but I’m sure it will be up to par with it’s main courses. I’ll make sure to update my review when I head back again and enjoy my full 3 course meal haha

 

 

One thought on “Le Procope 1686

Leave a Reply

