Les Deux Magots making my day…

I was saving my visit to Les Deux Magot for kind of a special day…being that it used to be a place of gathering for the literary and intellectual elite of Paris. I know the food is mediocre, but its name is not. It’s one of those places where you need to eat at just to say you ate there.

IMG_5765So, after my first (stressful) morning at Sciences Po (look at my post from yesterday), I decided that today could be the day. I really needed to just sit down, and eat something. This would be my first meal of the day.

It was around 14:30 in the afternoon and the place was already pretty empty, compared to other times when it could’ve been impossible to get a seat.

As I walked into the cafe, I was greeted by this middle-aged waitor who was literally the friendliest person I’ve encountered all day. His smile just made my day. “Ah, bonjour madame! Vous voyagez?” “No no, je suis etudiante echange a SciencesPo!” “Oh la la! SciencesPo!” He then directed me to another waitor, and was like “Here she is, she goes to SciencesPo!” I don’t know why he was so happy (maybe he was a SciencesPo alum?) but his happiness was totally contagious.

IMG_5762

I ended up ordering a cappuccino and a croque monsieur. That cappuccino was probably the most I’ve ever spent on caffeine…7 euros. My bill ended up to be 21 euros. Okay, so the cappuccino was a overpriced…but in exchange for a better mood for the rest of the day, I thought it was pretty worth it. Good enough for me.

The service was good, people were happy. The waitor that had greeted me came by twice and said “hold out your hand, save for the afternoon,” and secretly gave me like 5 chocolate things! I loveee chocolate…so that pretty much did it for me for the rest of the day haha!

3 thoughts on “Les Deux Magots making my day…

Leave a Reply

