Winter in Paris

Paris has never been so beautiful. The holiday festivities can be felt everywhere you go! Even though it’s been freeeezing cold this week, I’m still willing to leave the warmth of my apartment and my lovely heater to see everything that’s going on out there.

My favorite is of course, the Christmas market, which lasts until Jan 5th! Hurry up and go snatch some cool trinkets and grub your way through the markets! There are a ton of foods that can only be had in this particular season, street-food style. Champs-Elysee and La Defense hosts the best, in my opinion, marches de noel.

DSC_0220

IMG_6653DSC_0188

For a tropical islander like me, ice-skating is always out of the question. So head over to Hotel de Ville for a typical winter experience on ice while it’s still there 🙂

Visiting cathedrales is also another favorite. Notre Dame never gets old and is just as beautiful as it is during the night as it is during the day. My family and I plan to visit Sacre-Coeur on Jan 1st (when everything except cathedrals are open).

Haven’t been inside the Louvre yet? Try visiting the place at night just to see it light up and its night view! DSC_0635

 

A great way to experience Paris is a boat trip on the Seine River. I recommend Bateaux Mouches. I’ve been on it twice, once with SciencesPo’s orientation program and another time with my aunt in Novembre. It’s worth the trip to see all the historic buildings of the city with an intercom guide that speaks 5 different languages.

IMG_5727

Winter is definitely not the time to be cooped up inside your home if you’re in Paris. Take the time to brave the cold, burn extra calories, eat more food, and enjoy the great views!

Leave a Reply

