Nice – Sunny South of France

DSC_0510 DSC_0516 DSC_0521

South of France was definitely a major change of scene. Paris had been so cold and grey…and after my trip to Germany, I needed some warmth and sun! I was planning to go alone, but obviously with my dad being overprotective and all, he made my mom stay and extra week in France to accompany me.

So with that said, on a Friday morning my mom and I took an 8am flight out to Nice (My first time taking EasyJet, and now I can understand why people complain about it).

I felt like I was in Hawaii. The shuttle bus that took us to the city drove along the coast and we were greeted by palm trees, beach joggers, and of course, lazy beach bums. Ohhh, the life….! My first regret was that I didn’t bring my sunglasses. The glaring sun made my eyes hurt…or was it just because I’ve gotten so used to the grey skies of Paris…?

We stayed at Hotel Suisse (for free!!! because of all the mileage my mom has acquired from her travels). It is at the end of the Promenade des Anglais, but our room had a remarkable view. Too bad we didn’t have a balcony, otherwise we would’ve probably stayed in our room the whole time and ordering up room service.

After dropping off our luggage we made our way to Vieux Nice. A nice old town with small cluttered streets and filled with dozens of eateries. We had socca, a type of Nicoise crepe made out of chickpeas and olive oil. I sprinkled a liberal dose of black pepper to make it even tastier! We had ours made fresh, so it was even better! I really don’t like to eat pre-made food especially when its street food. We walked along Cours Saleya, their market street and found a place to have a humongo bowl of seafood spaghetti. It wasn’t that great, but the size….wow. It is definitely not just for one.

IMG_0140IMG_0156

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also walked to the town’s main square Place Massena. There is a park just adjacent to Massena where the kids play and it’s nice to walk through. The city tram also has a couple of stops here; super convenient if you need to go to Gare SNCF. It would be T1, btw.

IMG_0149

In late afternoon, just before the sun set, we made our way to Parc du Chateau. Since it wasn’t tourist season, we had to climb the stairs up, which isn’t too bad. Get up there to get views of the Nice coastline and the port! It’s a great little place to walk around and take a rest. Some people brought food up for picnic, but it was too chilly for us to do that.

DSC_0577If you are looking for a place to have a nice dinner, I got you covered! Le Bistro Gourmand, not far from Place Massena, offers creative local cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Since it’s truffle season, I would not hold on the truffles. The place is small and was pretty much all booked up the night we were there. The chef is also extremely friendly, running in and out of the kitchen to greet his guests!

All the dishes tasted just as beautiful as they were visually presented. Since you’re in Nice, I wouldn’t hesitate to get seafood!

DSC_0579DSC_0591 DSC_0592

Leave a Reply

