Marché des Enfants Rouges and Popelini

DSC_0075I’ve learned to love the notorious Sundays here. I dedicate my Sunday mornings to visit the local markets and get my fresh produce for the week. Since the weather was extremely nice, I ventured a bit farther out from my area to the Marché des Enfants Rouges in the Marais at Rue de Bretagne. The market is open everyday except Mondays, so it’s a convenient place to visit as well. It is also the oldest covered market in Paris, established in 1600! The name of the market translates to “Market of the red children,” which refers to the kids wearing red clothes who were cared for by a nearby orphanage.

This cool little market is also known for having cheap eats. Especially the Moroccan food and Chez Alain Miam Miam’s sandwiches. The market itself was packed, but the lines for these two places were…incredible.

DSC_0078

DSC_0081

DSC_0084

I waited 40 minutes at Chez Alain Miam Miam, which is known for his overstuffed crêpes and sandwiches. I had originally came here to get a socca, a chickpea crepe that is popular in Nice, but when I realized how long I had to line up for, I decided I might as well go for something bigger…so I decided to get a galette. And indeed…it was overstuffed. When I saw Alain handing out napkins generously, I thought he was crazy, but then I understood why. I literally was a mess after eating my galette.

DSC_0087

DSC_0089

DSC_0090

He also sells organic bread, which runs out pretty fast. They also have a habit of giving out petits cadeaux when you buy something from them, très sympa. An added plus for the ladies…his two helpers (I’m guessing his sons?) are both super nice, smiley, and cute!

DSC_0098
DSC_0094

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just around the corner from the marché is my favorite place to get my choux pastry – Popelini. I was craving something sweet after my galette so I decided to visit. Because why not? It’s a Sunday. I made a trip all the way out here, I might as well! (My excuse for everything)

It’s a very small shop. You can get the chou with a box of 6 or 12, and perhaps even more, I am sure. They also have special “chou du jour.” Today was creme chantilly. I’m not too big of a fan of whipped cream so I said no to that. I usually pick two choux to go, but you can also manger tout suite. But I prefer not to stuff my face in front of the shop keeper haha.

DSC_0101

They taste so fresh because they’re kept under a certain temperature. Have a chou here…and then have a chou elsewhere…then you will be sure to know the difference. I always love my pistache and rose. Today, I went for their passion fruit and “parfum de moment,” which was orange. Both were amazing.

DSC_0108

Leave a Reply

