Le Beurre, s’il vous plaît

Back when I was a health nut, I used to cringe at the mention of butter. I was actually a nut about eating healthy. Butter? Uhm, do I need to tell you how much fat it has? And tell me to eat it with toast? Carbs and fat together? Oh gawd, push me down a bridge first.

But then….I was enlightened with French butter. Compared to the prevalent President butter that you see everywhere, French butter just isn’t the same. I mean, it’s still fatty, but you won’t feel that way when you’re eating it. What’s worse than eating something you know is fat and oily and having it taste that way while you’re eating it?

Le Beurre should not be oily, should not be heavy. It should just be the right amount of —- to add to your bread to get it to the next level, without overdoing it. Jean Yves Bordier and Pascal Beillevaire accomplish this task exceedingly well. I currently have 3 different types of butter in my fridge, thanks to them. (Goodness, what have I turned into if not 300 pounds heavier than I was before?)

Bordier is from Saint Malo, Brittany. He makes hand-churned butter known as beurre de baratte, a very traditional method. I’ve learned that Bordier makes his product to the tastes of chefs he sells to and molds the butter into different shapes by hand. I’ve seen cones and diamonds from high end restaurants like Le Cinq and Odeyon. Except to get Bordier butter from other fancier restaurants. They will even specially introduce it as butter from Bordier.

Pascal Beillvaire is the only other one, that I’ve found, that makes traditional hand-churned butter. Just as worthy of your attention as Bordier.

I always like my butter plus doux, but I’ve been opening up to other interesting flavors.

IMG_1890

There’s vanilla flavored butter, and olive oil citron.

IMG_1891

Seaweed flavored butter? I’ve heard it’s great for cooking fish.

IMG_1892

Garlic and Sechuan herbs. Sounds Asian. I might like it. And then theres chilli pepper. Not sure how I feel about spicy butter, or if it’s even spicy?? I know the French don’t do spicy food so…

IMG_1893

Yuzu butter is probably very fitting for the Japanese. IMG_1894

And then of course, you have salted butter. Not pictured here is smoked-salted butter. I think that might actually be delicious. But who knew you could have so many different types of butter other than your regular salted and unsalted?!

IMG_1895-1

IMG_1896

I actually have the Poivres Des Mondes in my fridge right now, and it’s great! The pepper taste is not too strong, but enough so you can get a bit of an extra kick to your butter. IMG_1897

IMG_1898

Both Beillevaire and Bordier have great butter and you can find them all available to you at the major gourmet supermarkets such as Le Bon Marché and Gourmet Lafayette. It’s actually pretty overwhelming to see that much butter. To compare the two, Bordier butter tends to be firmer, while Beillevaire softer and creamier, from my experience. Either way though, they’re both sooooo gooood that I can’t live without either. So yeah, I do have butter from both of those guys in my fridge atm. It’s pretty scary to think about how much French food has changed me.

Butter and I used to have a misunderstanding, but now I can never look at it the same way. That is, French butter, of course.

Leave a Reply

