Miznon in the Marais

Come exams, papers, assignments and all that fun stuff at the end of the school year, I have never felt like I had less time in a day. There is too much to do. This is not just counting in studying time. This is counting in groceries, laundry, cleaning, cooking aka all the chores you didn’t have to worry about when you lived with your parents or in a dorm.

Now, I have a pile of laundry, trash not taken out, books and paper sprawled out in my living room, and unfortunately, an empty fridge. Well, an almost-empty fridge. I have some fruits, eggs, butter, and some Taiwanese sauces that my mom brought from her last visit. But besides that, it’s pretty empty, and I can’t be bothered to think about what to cook.

This is when I’m on the look out for places for a good grub. Fast, simple, and yummy. Okay, yes, take-out. I never do take-out.I had vowed to never do take-out before. I thought, if I’m eating something, I want it to taste good. So it’s either go to a decent place, or make it yourself. But desperate times calls for desperate measures. I just want something fast. Fast and good. Ever since I’ve come to that realization, as I’m sure most college students will and perhaps I’m just late to the party, I’ve been on the look out for some good sandwich shops. I’ve discovered Pain de Sucre and Du Pain et Des Idees to have good roulés – small savory lunch rolls that are made fresh just for that time of the day.

IMG_1966Those are actually really good and such great things to snack on. I would never underestimate a good roulé. They can really make my day that much easier to get through. But they are also tiny, and hardly filling unless you have 5 of them. So, I thought my quest was gonna be a huge struggle….until I found Miznon.

On a street where most customers crowd to L’As du Falafel, Miznon may seem pretty unnoticeable and unattractive. But this place serves pita sandwiches like a storm is coming.

IMG_1942

IMG_1945

IMG_1947

IMG_1956

IMG_1957

The head chef at Miznon is a woman. So commanding, and so fierce, and so sure of what she wants. I was sitting at the counter right where I can see them make the pita sandwiches, so I could hear her ordering her staff around [you can’t see her face clearly, but she is the one on the left]. Let me just tell you, I have never been so attracted to a woman in my life. She was that great. She talked liked she owned the kitchen, and worked like food was the only thing that existed in her world. I seriously just sat there, while eating my pita sandwich, and questioned my sexuality for a good 10 minutes. LOL. For those who know me personally will probably find it really funny. For those who don’t, well, just come grab a bite here. The pita sandwich was great, btw. IMG_1962

IMG_1964

I’ve heard their kebab d’agneau was pretty famous, so that’s what I decided to order since it was my first visit. I am already thinking about what to order on my next visit though.

The lamb meat balls were the star of this sandwich. So juicy! You know when you get an unfulfilling meat ball and you feel extremely cheated? There’s nothing in taste and it’s just so tiny. But this is the opposite of that. Topped with their home made sauce, a mix of veggies, and their home made pita bread…. Oh man. I never expected  a pita sandwich to be so good. This just confirms how serious the French take their food. They even want to make a huge deal out of a pita sandwich.

IMG_1953

They have free dips and free chunks of pita bread for self-serving. The pita bread is fluffy and soft, and everything it should be. I hate it when I get a hard pita bread.

As a side dish, they offer a whole head of baked cauliflower, which smelled and looked amazing. Obviously for sharing though.

Other interesting fillings they have are boeuf bourguignon and ratatouille. I can’t wait to try those. I saw their huge pot of boeuf bourguignon and wondered why I hadn’t gotten that in the first place. The choux farcis, stuffed cabbage also sounded really interesting, but I wasn’t sure what it would look like so I skipped that option. But I saw other customers order it and it looked really good. Other things on the list I would love to try is probably their poisson épicé, spiced fish. They’re also known to have really baked sweet potato, which wasn’t available today, but I’ll be on the look out.

Man, it sounds like I will actually have to make several visits. But I think those visits can be justified since my hell week doesn’t look like it’s going to end anytime soon.

IMG_1946

Miznon
Phone: 01 42 74 83 58
Address: 22 Rue des Ecouffes, 75004 Paris
Hours:
Mon – Thu: 12:00 pm – 11:30 pm
Fri: 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Sun: 12:00 pm – 11:30 pm
(Closed Saturdays)

Leave a Reply

