Bones

Bones has been on my mind ever since I came to Paris, but I just never made the effort to go since it’s a bit out of my way. The restaurant itself is pretty understated. Although a splurge for dinner, the place will give you a casual ambiance. You can go 55euros for their “surprise menu” that changes on the daily, or their tapas bar.

Unfortunately, this restaurant is closing in late August. The word is that several of the main players in the kitchen are looking to move on to bigger things. So I would hurry on over to try out the food here.  If not, no worries, the owner is opening a new restaurant elsewhere so just be on the look out 🙂

DSC_0470

DSC_0473

DSC_0477

DSC_0480

DSC_0487

DSC_0494

The dinner started out with a series of small tapas as appetizers, which we loved! Everything was very light and refreshing (it was a really hot day, and to be honest, I didn’t think I actually had enough of an appetite). These small appetizers came pretty fast and I think I was so distracted by the food that I didn’t understand what the waiter was saying when she brought us our last entrée – coeur de canard, duck heart. I can’t believe I ate it….but it didn’t taste like anything weird. Since I’m Taiwanese and I already eat a bunch of animal intestines, I guess I’m bound to taste the heart of an animal some day. Wow, I sound like a carnivore.

DSC_0496
Ricotta cheese and peas
DSC_0501
Charcuterie
DSC_0513
Chinchard with pickled cucumbers on toasted bread
DSC_0517
Coeur de Canard

DSC_0521

DSC_0522

My favorite dish of the night is grilled asparagus with crab meat and sliced almonds. Super simple and refreshing. I wish they had given me a whole bowl of it. I really could’ve made this my main dish.

The other main course was Pintade du Bearn, a type of bird I think. I’ve had pigeon and I’ve had quail, but not this. Tasted amazing with the crispy skin and the thin layer of fat. I didn’t take any time at all to devour this. Kind of just ate it. My friend was surprised that I could eat so fast…

DSC_0526

Dessert was disappointing…but I’ve found that to be the case with most restaurants who do the daily changing menu. They spend very little time in dessert. And since it’s the summer, some form of sorbet or ice cream will most likely appear. The dessert was goat yogurt with cherry sorbet. Ehhh….

DSC_0536

 

Bones

Address: 43 Rue Godefroy Cavaignac, 75011 Paris
Hours: 7pm-2am (Closed Sundays and Mondays)
Leave a Reply

